Kingfisher Sky

Kingfisher Sky
Edo Van Der Kolk (Guitar [since 2006], ex-The Saturnine), Maaike Peterse (Cello [since 2008]), Nick Verschoor (Bass [since 2014]), Judith Rijnveld (Vocals [since 2001], founder member), David Gutiérrez Rojas (Keyboard [since 2010], ex-Magion, ex-Elleanore), Chris Henny (Guitar [since 2010]), Ivar de Graaf (Drums [since 2001], founder member, ex-Within Temptation), George van Olffen (Keyboard [2007-2009]), Eric Hoogendoorn (Bass [2007-2014], ex-Orphanage, ex-Silicon Head), Daan Janzing (Guitar [2007-2010], My Favorite Scar, ex-Antropomorphia), René Merkelbach (Keyboard [2009], ex-Gorefest)

Together with singer Judith Rijnveld, Ivar de Graaf (ex-Within Temptation) explored a way to combine both their influences into songs that didn’t bound themselves to a specified genre or style.

With influences like Porcupine Tree and Kate Bush, but also classical singers as Cecilia Bartoli and traditional Folk music in their mind they started recording songs in their home studio in 2005. In May of 2007 Kingfisher Sky recorded their first album “Hallway of Dreams” produced by Jochem Jacobs (Textures) and Bouke Visser (Split Second Sound).

This debut-album was released in October of 2007 by Suburban Records. Hallway of Dreams was received with great reviews and a successful head-line tour throughout the Netherlands followed.

Little over a year later this rock solid debut album was released in The United States, Italy, the U.K., France, Japan and Germany. On September the 18th 2010, Kingfisher Sky released their second album titled “Skin of the Earth”. Much like their first album “Hallway of Dreams”, “Skin of the Earth”" was received with raving reviews.

After a successful crowdfunding campaign their third album Arms of Morpheus saw the light of day in October 2014. For their ten year anniversary the EP “To Turn the Tables” was released digitally via Itunes. One song that is ten minutes long and embodies all the elements that make Kingfisher Sky special and unique. With the perfect blend of all of their musical influences, Kingfisher Sky takes you on a musical journey with a lot of surprises along the road! Judith Rijnveld: Vocals Erik van Ittersum: Keys Ivar de Graaf: Drums Edo van der Kolk: Guitar Maaike Peterse: Cello Nick Verschoor: Bass Guitar .

Progressive Rock