• Home
  •   /  
  • News
  •   /  
  • HELSOTT With The Tom Petty Cover "Runnin' Down A Dream"

HELSOTT With The Tom Petty Cover "Runnin' Down A Dream"

HELSOTT With The Tom Petty Cover "Runnin' Down A Dream"
October 02, 2018

California will now package with Pagan Metal, HELSOTT of ibid to deliver with their upcoming Album "Slaves & Gods" quite a bit of rock full of pagan Death Metal tones, the rather to Nordic cold blades because after the Californian sun. For their second album, the Californians have represented invited a number of guests into the Studio, all of which are known in the Pagan, respectively, Folk Metal.

metal.de presents: HELSOTT with the Tom Petty Cover "Runnin' Down A Dream"

In addition to musicians of ARKONA, and TROLL is one of the ELVENKING Violinist Lethien, has refined the Tom Petty Cover "Runnin' Down A Dream". Like the sounds of it you can get now an impression. Because after HELSOTT already the title track of the album has released, we are happy now, you, in cooperation with Gordeon Music, the music video for the Tom Petty-Cover Version to present. And this:

Eric Dow says:

“Tom Petty what is and will forever be an American songwriting hero. He was one of my all-time favorites and I was lucky enough to see him live several times. We were working on, Slaves and Gods when he passed away. I had just seen him at the Hollywood Bowl for what would become his final run of shows and I was very inspired. We decided very quickly that we were going to cover a song and put it on the new record. We chose "Runnin' Down A Dream" because we felt we related most with those lyrics and the song rocks! I felt like instead of the acoustic guitar accompanying us we would ask Lethien from Elvenking to throw down some violin. He did a great job. In the spirit of the album, and having so many guest musicians on it we had a local artist named Hunter Havokk, do the guitar and bass. We really liked the outcome so we decided to do a tribute video and release it on the anniversary of Tom Petty’s passing. Since Tom Petty made shit happen with little to no money, we decided to approach this video in a very DIY manner. We had a GoPro and our friend Frank to film us. I did all the editing and I am no means a video guy. We were just 3 guys having fun in the spirit of Tom Petty. We wanted to do a storyline that was believable but still lucid enough to still be a dream. I could very easily lake one of us having a dream where Cooper was playing a pink Jr. drum kit in the back of our trailer. Then our van breaks down and we do whatever we can to pass the time, but it's okay because a Jedi will come and fix the van“

The Album will be released on 12. October via M-Theory, to appear.

Track list:

01. Slaves and Gods
02. The Coward's Curse
03. Winter Smells Like Death
04. Whiskey Breath
05. Eye of the Past
06. Trollskald
07. Zep Tepi
08. Return Of Hyperborea
09. Honour Thy Valkyrie
10. Runnin‘ Down A Dream