Manuel Steitz (Drums), Till Ottinger (Bass Steorrah, ex-Misanthropic), Sathonys (Vocals, Guitar [since 1995], founder member), Thilo Feucht (Guitar), Chris 'Ashtrael' Bonner (Vocals), Felix Ü. Walzer (Keyboard), Jan Jansohn (Guitar Adorned Brood), Darin Smith (Bass), Jonas Iscariot (Vocals), Frank Nordmann (Vocals, Guitar), Matthias Rodig (Drums)

Agathodaimon was formed in September 1995 by Sathonys (guitar) and Matthias Rodig (drums).

After placing some ads in several music magazines, they soon found the right band mates in Vlad (vocals, keys) and Marko T. (bass).

After several rehearsals, it was obvious that a second guitar player would benefit the sound of Agathodaimon. After a few months, Hyperion joined the band. Together, a first demo was recorded in April 1996, entitled "Carpe Noctem".

Although only recorded on eight tracks in just a few hours, it received excellent reviews around the fanzine press, even in some major magazines. Some record labels approached the band, and so Agathodaimon recorded the second demo "Near Dark" in 1997, with financial assistance of Century Media.

This time, the band spent four days for recording and mixing, and thanks to a mix on 16 tracks, "Near Dark" sounded much better than its predecessor. The reviews and response from the metal scene was awesome.

Thanks to several mailorder and distribution companies, "Near Dark" sold more than 2.000 copies and soon became a rare collector's item. After receiving offers from various labels, the band decided to sign to Nuclear Blast.

A debut album was scheduled for early 1998, but had to be delayed after Romanian vocalist Vlad was denied return to Germany by the authorities. Having lived in Germany for almost more than eight years, it soon became evident that it was a big mistake to pay a "short visit" to his home country to visit some relatives and friends before the recordings for our debut album were supposed to start.

It turned out that all tried methods to get him back in time failed, and some rather illegal methods to solve the problem didn't turn things to the better. So, after a few delays, the recordings were done with the help of Frank Nordmann, aka Akaias. "Blacken The Angel" was released in late 1998 and soon received excellent reviews throughout the international press.

Some gigs and tours with bands such as Benediction and Hypocrisy followed, as well as some festival gigs at Wacken Open Air, Wave Gotik Treffen and other festivals. The keyboard slot was temporarily filled by Marcel Va.

Traumschänder of Nocte Obducta. At that time, both Sathonys and Matthias were also playing in Nocte Obducta, although Sathonys left a few years later after the recordings of their second album "Taverne" to concentrate on Agathodaimon. A new keyboard player was found in Christine Schulte, and in 1999, the band prepared for their second album "Higher Art Of Rebellion".

To avoid further troubles with Vlad's immigration, the whole band travelled to Romania's capitol to record the second album together with Vlad. The recording process itself was very stressy, as the studio owners weren't very experienced with metal music.

But although the sound was a little disappointing in the end, "Higher Art Of Rebellion" turned out to be a milestone in the further progression of Agathodaimon. Temporarily far away from typical Black Metal attitude, the songs were partly progressive, partly weird but always dark and sinister. A few months later, it became obvious that what once was meant as interim solution turned into a steady cooperation: Akaias officially became the permanent singer of Agathodaimon, while Vlad decided to leave the band, partly because of musical differences, partly because of the big geographical distance between him and the band.

But first, a headliner tour with Siebenbürgen and Graveworm followed in 2000, and the songwriting for "Chapter III" began. This time, the band wanted to mix both the progressive and melodic elements with the raw and straight attitude from the debut album. "Chapter III" marked another important step, as the songwriting procedure was changed and for the first time, a pre-production was done to analyse the songs before the final recording process.

Meanwhile, more gigs and festival appearances at Wacken, Wave Gotik Treffen, Summer Breeze etc. were done.

In 2001, "Chapter III" was released. Later on, some line-up changes happened: Bass player Marko decided to leave the band due to ongoing health problems that occurred after a stomach surgery and because he lost his passion for playing music, and also guitarist Hyperion had to leave the band.

Even Christine left the band as she wanted to found her own band and stop playing keyboards. Vocalist Akaias decided to take over the guitar, being used to handle both vocals and guitar with his other band Asaru since 1995.

A new keyboard player was soon found in Felix Ü. Walzer, and some months later, bass player Darin "Eddie" Smith joined the band.

A lot of rehearsals and some gigs in countries such as Slovakia , Slovenia , Austria etc. were done to get in shape, before the work on "Serpent's Embrace" began in late 2003. The album was released in 2004 and marked the top of Agathodaimon's evolution: Rich songs, featuring a wide range of styles, from old black metal roots to electronic sounds, melodic and balladesk tunes, groovy, partly fast, partly doom-inspired.

delivering the essence of all stylistic adventures Agathodaimon went through the years before. An exclusive song was written later on for the movie soundtrack of "Alone In The Dark", bearing the same title- sadly only released on the USA- and Japan-edition so far. The years 2005 and 2006 saw a lot of gigs; in 2006 bass player Till replaced Eddie.

In the end of 2006, vocalist/guitarist Frank "Akaias" Nordmann decided to settle to another country, therefore some replacements had to be found- Jonas Iscariot (vocals) and Jan Jansohn (guitars) joined Agathodaimon. Due to lack of time, Matthias and Jonas had to leave the band in 2008, which led to further delays concerning the work on the next albuum. Replacements were found in Manuel Steitz (drums) and Ashtrael (vocals). Recordings for the fifth album, entitled PHOENIX, took again place at Kohlekeller studio.

The album was released in march 2009. A while later, our old pal Thilo Feucht, who also contributed on previous albums, became a steady member of the band and replaced Jan Jansohn. Finally, IN DARKNESS was released on the 28th of June 2013..

Discography: 1996 Carpe Noctem (Demo) 1997 Near Dark (Demo) 1998 Blacken The Angel 1999 Higher Art Of Rebellion 2001 Chapter III 2004 Serpent's Embrace 2009 Phoenix 2013 In Darkness