Mayhem (NOR)

Mayhem (NOR)
Jørn "Necrobutcher" Stubberud (Bass [1984-1991] [since 1994], Kvikksølvguttene, Bloodthorn, ex-Checker Patrol), Jan Axel Blomberg (aka Hellhammer) (Drums [since 1988], MeZZerschmitt, Thorns, Winds, ex-Dimmu Borgir, ex-Arcturus, ex-Antestor, ex-Shining, ex-The Kovenant, ex-Immortal, ex-Mysticum), Attila Csihar (Vocals [1993] [since 2004], Anaal Nathrakh, Tormentor (HUN), ex-Aborym, ex-Keep Of Kalessin), Krister "Morfeus" Dreyer (Guitar [since 2008], live member, ex-Limbonic Art), Morten Iversen (aka Teloch) (Guitar [since 2011], Nidingr, NunFuckRitual), Torben Grue (Drums [1987]), Snorre "Blackthorn" Ruch (Guitar [1992-1993], Stigma Diabolicum, Thorns), Eirik "Billy" Nordheim (aka Messiah) (Vocals [1984-1986], Cockroach Clan, Within Range, Impostor/Death Fuck), Kristian Larssøn Vikernes (aka Varg Vikernes) (Bass [1992-1993], Burzum, ex-Old Funeral, ex-Darkthrone), Sven Erik Kristiansen (aka Maniac) (Vocals [1986-1988] [1994-2004], Skitliv, Amicus, Bomberos, Septic Cunts, Voluspå, Wurdulak, Eibon), Rune "Blasphemer" Eriksen (Guitar [1994-2008], Aura Noir, MeZZerschmitt, Ava Inferi), Per Yngve Ohlin (aka Dead) (Vocals [1988-1991], died 08/04/1991 (suicide), ex-Morbid), Kittil Kittilsen (Vocals Vomit (Nor), Kvikksølvguttene), Kjetil Manheim (Drums [1984-1988], LEGO, Musta, Septic (NOR), Flowers In The Dustbin), Silmaeth (Guitar [2009-2011], live member, ex-Vorkreist), Stien "Occultus" Johannsen (Vocals, Bass [1992], Con Anima, Shadow Dancers, Thy Abhorrent, Einar Grimm Group, Pussycunts, Perdition Hearse), Øystein "Euronymous" Aarseth (Guitar [1984-1993], died 11/08/1993 (murder), ex-LEGO, ex-Checker Patrol, ex-Flowers In The Dustbin)

Mayhem are a Norwegian black metal band formed in 1984 in Oslo long regarded as one of the pioneers of the Norwegian black metal scene.

Mayhem's career has been highly controversial, primarily due to their violent stage performances, the 1991 suicide of vocalist Per Yngve Ohlin ("Dead") and 1993 murder of guitarist Øystein Aarseth ("Euronymous") by former member Varg Vikernes ("Count Grishnackh"), also of Burzum. The group released a demo and an EP that were highly influential, and amassed a loyal following through sporadic and notorious live performances, attracting further attention through their ties to the string of Norwegian church burnings and the prominent incidents of violence surrounding them. They disbanded after Aarseth's murder, shortly before the release of their debut album, De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas, regarded as a classic of the black metal genre.

Surviving former members Jan Axel Blomberg ("Hellhammer"), Jørn Stubberud ("Necrobutcher") and Sven Erik Kristiansen ("Maniac") reformed two years later with Rune Eriksen ("Blasphemer") replacing Aarseth. Attila Csihar since replaced Kristiansen. The band's music strongly influenced the black metal genre and was instrumental in moving the wider metal scene away from the prevailing trend for speed metal.

Their post-Aarseth material is characterised by increased experimentation. Mayhem's most recent album, Ordo Ad Chao, received the Spellemannprisen award for Best Metal Album in 2007..

De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas Live 2016/17