Mors Principium Est

Mors Principium Est
Mikko Sipola (Drums [since 2000]), Ville Viljanen (Vocals [since 2000]), Andy Gillion (Guitar [since 2011]), Teemu Heinola (Bass [since 2001]), Kevin Verlay (Guitar [since 2014]), Jori Haukio (Guitar, Programming [1999-2006]), Joona Kukkola (Keyboard [2004-2007]), Andhe Chandler (Guitar [2011-2014]), Tom Gardiner (Guitar [2008-2009]), Tomy Laisto (Guitar [2007-2011]), Karri Kuisma (Guitar [2006-2008]), Jarkko Kokko (Guitar [1999-2009]), Kalle Aaltonen (Guitar [2009-2011]), Toni Nummelin (Keyboard [1999-2004])

In 1999, Mors Principium Est was established by singer/lead guitarist Jori Haukio, guitarist Jarkko Kokko and keyboardist Toni Nummelin.

Drummer Mikko Sipola joined in late 1999, soon followed by the arrival of new vocalist Ville Viljanen in early 2000 when Jori decided to focus on his guitar work. With the first demo “Before Birth” released in 2001, and after Listenable Records became interested, bassist Teemu Heinola was appointed. One year and two demos later, Mors Principium Est signed a three-album contract with Listenable Records in 2002.

Their debut album, "Inhumanity" was recorded and mixed by Ahti Kortelainen in Finland at Tico-Tico Studios, and mastered at Finnvox Studios. The album was released in 2003.

The second album, "The Unborn" was recorded at Tico-Tico Studios, and mastered at Finnvox Studios. The album was released in 2005.

Following the release, the band played at Brave Words and Bloody Knuckles Six-Pack Metal Festival in Cleveland, USA, their first gig outside Finland. Their Listenable Records contract was completed by their third album “Liberation = Termination” released in 2007. The album was recorded in many locations, including Astia Studios, and was mastered at Imperial Mastering in California, USA.

Between 2007 and 2011 there were a series of line-up changes which led to a hiatus. In 2011 the band announced that they would search for members worldwide.

After over 200 applications, Andy Gillion from the UK was found as main songwriter and lead guitarist, to feature alongside Ville, Teemu, and Mikko. In 2012, The band signed to German record label, AFM Records, alongside Marquee Records (Japan), and Truth Inc Records (Australia).

Following this, the fourth studio album, "...and Death Said Live" was released, mixed and mastered by the legendary Thomas 'Plec' Johansson at the “The Panic Room”, Sweden. In 2013 the band began to tour again, starting in South Korea and Japan, as well as an European tour with The Agonist. “Dawn of the 5th Era” was released in 2014, mixed and mastered again by Thomas 'Plec' Johansson at the “The Panic Room”, Sweden.

After the release of the album, the band played, for example, Summer Breeze Festival, Brutal Assault Festival, as well as several shows in Japan, China and Hong Kong, to name but a few. In 2017, Mors Principium Est returned with their latest album, “Embers of a Dying World”, mixed and mastered by none other than Thomas 'Plec' Johansson at the “The Panic Room”, Sweden. Following the release, the band played 70,000 Tons of Metal Cruise, Summer Breeze festival, and shows in Russia, Japan and Singapore. The band continue to tour, with more shows to be announced soon… .

Melodic Death Metal