Autumn (NL)

Autumn (NL)
Marjan Welman (Vocals Vetrar Draugurinn), Jens Van der Valk (Guitar, Back Vocals Cantara, ex-God Dethroned), Kevin Storm (Bass), Jan Grijpstra (Drums), Mats Van der Valk (Guitar, Back Vocals Cantara, Seizure, Salacious Gods), Jan Munnik (Keyboard, Programming, Piano), Nienke de Jong (Vocals Dejafuse, ex-Her Enchantmen), Jerome Vrielink (Bass Massive Assault , Absorbed (NL)), Bert Ferweda (Guitar), Meindert Sterk (Bass), Welmoed Veersma (Vocals), Jeroen Bakker (Guitar Sephyros), Hildebrand Van de Woude (Drums), Jasper Koenders (Guitar ex-Her Enchantmen), Menno Terpstra (Keyboard Sephyros)

Dutch heavy headstrong rock collective Autumn has returned to the fore, full force.

The band has been working patiently and meticulously on material for the successor to critically acclaimed fifth album Cold Comfort. The resulting full-length album Stacking Smoke is due for release on January 24th 2019 and a new live campaign is set to commence from February onward. With a colorful history dating back to the late 90’s, Autumn needs no formal introduction.

Yet every joint musical effort sees the seven-piece reinvent itself and further push its boundaries, offering not just the listener, but also the members themselves, a glance at new facets of the band’s identity. Guitarist Jens: “We keep learning from and feeding off each other’s musicality.

The way each of us adds individual layers to song structures often makes a song take on a completely different identity in the process.” Each song was crafted with the band’s typical eye for detail but left to age for a considerably longer period of time, adding to the richness of the sound palette. With a wealth of new material on the shelf, Autumn began welding together an album very close to the heart, both powerful and intimate, compact yet diverse in nature.

Stacking Smoke is more than ever the sum of its parts. A lot of parts.

The new songs were composed with three performing guitarists in mind. Ronald Landa (ex-Delain) was found eager to join as an additional string man, bringing along his considerable skills as a singer.

Bass player Maurice van der Es completed the line-up shortly after. Marjan Welman is on top of her game like never before, with her recognizable voice oscillating effortlessly between icy cold and sultry warm.

With the production solely in the hands of the band, Stacked Smoke promises to be Autumn’s most deliberate and personal album to date. One that will translate to a live environment like never before with the urgency of a refined steamroller.

Having played countless club shows and festivals over the span of five albums, Autumn is eager to hit the stage running, with two additional members and a set list containing highlights from different eras blending in with the new material. Jens: “So many songs to choose from.

We’ve had to kill our darlings for this set list.” Those that made the cut will merge to form a wall of sound brought to life live in 2019 by a band rejuvenated, enhanced and rearing to go. Autumn is: Marjan Welman – vocals Jan Munnik – keyboards Mats van der Valk – guitars Jens van der Valk – guitars Ronald Landa – guitars Maurice van der Es – bass guitars Jan Grijpstra - drums .