Håkan Morberg (Guitar, Bass), Klas Morberg (Vocals, Guitar), Johan Bolin (Bass), Thomas Johnson (Vocals, Drums), Jens Almgren (Bass), Stefan Pöge (Guitar)

Desultory was part of the first wave of Swedish death metal bands, alongside Entombed, Dismember, and others.

Into Eternity, their Metal Blade debut following a lesser-known EP release, is standard for the genre, energetic and forceful, straddling the line between the more brutal American death style and the melodic Gothenburg variety. Though not groundbreaking, it was considered a fine album by fans. By most accounts, their followup, Bitterness, is more of the same, but 1996's Swallow the Snake takes quite a different approach, dropping the death vocals (and, for the most part, death metal itself), for a more heavy rock sound likened by some to Soundgarden.

Having been dropped by Metal Blade, they disappeared, but the three members from the Snake album recruited a new fourth member and, continuing the progression from that last album, continued on as the grunge rock act Zebulon, releasing at least one EP and one LP. `l||ADDITIONAL NOTES||l` *Stefan Pöge left the band in 1995, thus leading to Swallow The Snake being written and recorded without him. This explains the drastic change in style. *After fulfilling their 3-album deal Desultory left Metal Blade Records, and the band broke up.

Håkan, Klas, Thomas continued to play together and eventually formed Zebulon, playing a similar style to that heard on Swallow The Snake..

For more info: