Greg Anderson (Guitar Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine, Sunn O))), Burial Chamber Trio, Engine Kid, Pentemple, Thorr's Hammer, Ascend, Burning Witch), Greg Rogers (Drums The Obsessed), Pete Stahl (Vocals, Guitar Orquesta Del Desierto, Earthlings?, Wool, Scream), Guy Pinhas (Bass Acid King, The Obsessed), G. Stuart Dahlquist (Bass The Obsessed), Scott Reeder (Bass Kyuss, The Obsessed, Unida), JR (Drums), Joey Castillo (Drums Queens Of The Stone Age, Eagles Of Death Metal)

Goatsnake was formed in 1996 after the disbanding of The Obsessed.

After The Obsessed's disbanding, the rhythm section consisting of Guy Pinhas (former bassist of the Dutch stonerband Beaver) on bass and Greg Rogers on drums began jamming with guitarist Greg Anderson (Thorr's Hammer, Burning Witch, Sunn O)))). They soon found a vocalist in Pete Stahl (Scream, Wool, Earthlings?, Desert Sessions).

Goatsnake recorded and released two 7" EPs in 1998 and were featured on several metal compilations. They released their debut full-length, 1, in 1999 on Man's Ruin Records/Rise Above Records. Goatsnake toured Europe in support of their debut album and played with bands such as Unida, Fatso Jetson, and Electric Wizard.

They returned in 2000 for a U.K. tour with Orange Goblin and Sunn O))), another Anderson project.[1] In 2000 Pinhas left Goatsnake to join Acid King and was replaced by Stuart Dahlquist of Burning Witch.

Goatsnake released a split with Burning Witch on Hydra Head Records that same year. They also released the Dog Days EP on Anderson's Southern Lord Records that same year.

Later that year they released their second album, Flower of Disease on Man's Ruin Records/Rise Above Records. The band split up in 2001 and Anderson continued with Sunn O))) and played in Teeth of Lions Rule the Divine. In 2004 the band reformed with Anderson and Stahl being joined by bassist Scott Reeder (The Obsessed, Kyuss) and drummer JR (Cave In). They recorded three songs which were released on the Trampled Under Hoof EP along with two previously vinyl-only tracks.

This same year also saw the release of the compilation 1 + Dog Days by Southern Lord Records, which combines the first album and the Dog Days EP as well as a track from the Man of Light EP. Albums * Goatsnake Vol. 1 CD (Man's Ruin Records 1999) * Flower of Disease CD (Man's Ruin Records 2000) EPs * IV 7" (Prosthetic Records 1998) * Man of Light 7" (Warpburner Records 1998) * Goatsnake/Burning Witch split CD (Hydra Head Records 2000) * Dog Days CD (Southern Lord Records 2000) * Trampled Under Hoof CD (Southern Lord Records 2004) Compilation/Reissue * 1 + Dog Days CD (Southern Lord Records 2004) Compilation tracks * "Hot Rod" on Rise 13: Magick Rock, Vol.

1 (Rise Above Records 1999) .