• Home
  •   /  
  • Reviews
  •   /  
  • Here Come the Infidels

Here Come the Infidels - Stuck Mojo

Stuck Mojo is back and will smash everything in their path

The album shows that Stuck Mojo are back with the ancient strength and anger, where the sound has grown and the addition of Robby J turns out to be a perfect match. The album is packed with in your face attitude. "The Style packing, trend setting, no regretting, gun packing, mouth smacking, southern fried. Original, mythical, fearless and invincible – Here come the infidels" Stuck Mojo is back and smashes to the 9 skulls.

Here Come The Infidels are 11 songs about anger and brutality and they hit like a baseball bat right in the face

Stuck Mojo: the pioneers of rapmetal

"Welcome everybody to the dirty dirty south!" cries the new frontman Robby J. Fonts, and welcome to Stuck Mojo in the year 2016. It's 7 years since we last heard from Rich Ward and his band Stuck Mojo. The band are pioneers in the field of rapmetal and while other bands have had greater success, so there are few who are so loyal to their roots.

In 2014, it was otherwise announced to the classic line-up with the Bonz (vocals), Corey Lowery (bass) Rich Ward (guitars) and Frank Fontsere (drums) had to be restored in connection with some reunion concerts and a new album was in the pipeline. The band released only to play a couple of concerts, before the Bonz and Lowery again pulled the plug. Why was Len Sonnier (bass) and the young canadian Robby J. Fonts (vocals) invited the band, and today is Stuck Mojo's seventh album, Here Come The Infidels, come on the street.

Baseballbattet swung merrily on the album's 11 tracks

Already from the first song and title track, gives the Stuck Mojo a warning to either move or be run over and this sets the tone for the rest of the album. For the first time, we hear the new frontman Robby J. Fonts, and it is immediately clear that Robby adds an extra element to the band, as he in addition to rapping, also can sing. If "Here Come The Infidels" is a fist right in the face, so is the "Rape Whistle" baseballbattet that smashes you beyond recognition. This is not an album for the faint of heart, and as a listener confronted both musical and lyrical. An example of this is "there's no peace love and happiness here, but you want something done? Grab your barretta and go vigilante" as there rappes on the album's third track "Charles Bronson". The easily recognizable guitar riff from Rick Ward, falls well into place with Len Sonnier's bass playing. When a fat groove is in the ascendancy, thanks to Fontseres hard-hitting drumming. The album is steeped in classic Stuck Mojo with angry texts for an angry world.

"Verbal Combat" is a tribute to the other pioneers who helped to create the rap metal genre as Run DMC, Chuck D, Public Enemy and Anthrax, who all respectfully mentioned.

"Destroyer" is a more regular rap song and has a little bit of old school Xzibit. If you were to swap Xzibit's pumping the beats out with Ward's guitar playing. The song provides a a brief break from the hard tones, and shows a maturity that hasn't been present on the band's previous releases.

The penultimate song that should be mentioned is the "Tamborine". It is a funky little satan, reminiscent of early Red Hot Chili Peppers, where Robby gives Anthony Kiedis battle to the line and Sonneir see why he was hauled in on bass. The album ends with a good dose of "Blasphemy", even a song that encapsulates everything Stuck Mojo stands for – a strong vocal, funk, and metal.

>> Check the songs and lyrics here