• Home
  •   /  
  • Reviews
  •   /  
  • The Holographic Principle

The Holographic Principle - Epica

Nice sound

Epicas new album is solid and well-written; it contains all the elements, as could be expected. Here is also an album where there really is attention to mixing and mastering, so all the elements gets its place in the soundscape and together leaves a delicious game of symphonic metal.
It can be argued that there is no renewal on the Epicas new album, and that they will therefore proceed in the same track, as they have done since 2003. This discussion seems, however, for the schizophrenic to take with myself and certainly not the quality of the album worse. 8 symphonic skulls to Epica.

The Dutch symphony-the machine is back with yet another epic adventure

Red hair and growls, all the good times seven

Dutch Epica have since 2003 been relatively productive with a new album every two years, and this trend appears to Epica to continue with their 7. album The Holographic Principle. The genre is symphonic metal, and the red-haired Simone Simons in the front with its enchanting mezzo-soprano voice and Mark Jansens (ex-After Forever) grunt, the screaming and death growls, forming the basis for the Epica.
Epica visited for the first time Denmark at this year's Copenhell and hit again the 3. march in Amager Bio.

Nothing new under the sun

Epica is one of those bands that are incredibly faithful to its fans, as they manage to make albums in the same genre, and without the larger excesses, either to one side or the other side. Thus, you know what can be expected: progressive music with symphonic, grandiose passages, vocals and full stone on vocals from the two singers. Here is The Holographic Principle no exception, and it is also built up on the theme and theory of the same name.

The album contains some very well-composed numbers, where the best in my opinion is the numbers of "Universal Death Squad" and "Beyond The Matrix", which in brief represent it, as Epica is best at – namely to write the numbers that both have symphonic/progressive pieces, but at the same time manages to hit the good hooks, and the slightly more poppy elements. Similarly, there are also the obligatory Epica-trouble, that is to find in each album here with the track "Once Upon A Nightmare", which clearly is one of the more weak tracks on the album and a piece from the storhittet "Cry For The Moon" from the debut album The Phantom Agony.

This predictability continues when sluttracket on the album is a little over 10 minutes long cutting, which is also symptomatic of the Epica albums. The number also has such a long title, that it did not find place in this review.

>> Check the songs and lyrics here