• Home
  •   /  
  • Reviews
  •   /  
  • Yonder Yawns the Universe

Yonder Yawns the Universe - Apparatus

Carl Nielsen turns

A (possibly untrue) anecdote about Carl Nielsen tells that he is in Frankfurt in 1927 should have told a company of composers he had been studying one of Arnold Schoenberg's works, in order to find a small part he could understand. At long last, managed to find two bars, he understood, about which he noted "... und die waren bei Gott nicht gut!"

I'm not Carl Nielsen, and the Apparatus is not Schoenberg, but I have researched the Yonder Yawns the Universe to find a small part, which I can understand. It managed finally to find the two bars, and let me say: they are by Azathoth easy. Even more crazy than the making of Yonder Yawns the Universe is the fact that it actually works well. The above anecdote is included with a twinkle in his eye. There is substantially more than the two bars that hold of by Yonder... – if one is willing to scrutinize it.

Short compositions

It is difficult to notify experimental music. What if you just fail to understand what is going on? If the music is so amorphous, that it appears to be written by the blind idiotgud, Azathoth? In this case, I sought answers in the press, and indeed, who saved themselves a revelation: The copenhagen eksperimentalister, Apparatus, itself writes, that they "... developed [...] their own version of the twelve-tone technique and aleatorisk composition by roll the dice and throw the deck on the floor". So I can better understand that Yonder Yawns the Universe sounds like Azathoths work, for it is in a certain sense the reality. "Extreme metal bands meets Arnold Schönberg in the room"? It sounds too shrill crazy to be true... so it fits securely.

Happen well

"Synchraat" is an appropriate opening, and describes – as far as possible – the album as a whole. A bewildered expression created through dissonant and distorted chords, and, later replaced by the equally scattered tremolo-riffs on a base of blastbeats. Suddenly leads a break into a passage with two uforvrængede guitars, who play a kind of call-and-response piece without any recognizable key, while the human screams, laughs, and high in the background. It took me a while to notice that the structure is linear - no passenger to be repeated. The "Lash" takes the sound further out in the room with the stratospheric tones over a heavy doom rhythm, even added ethereal choral parts and sporadic blastbeats. I can of course not guess, where the big role of the dice and cards have played in the writing, but of an experimental and aleatorisk work to be, it's – excuse me – surprisingly meaningful, at least when you learn it to know.

To complement the abruptly alternating styles have Yonder a consistently manic expression, which is tied together by the album's dense atmosphere and constant dissonance. The second half of the album leans heavier on the sludgemetallen, and the rhythm here is based more on the groove, while the heavy chugs constitutes the starting point for the increasingly dissonant chords. Both the "Æon" and "X" sounds each of which almost Voïvod-inspired ekstremsludge through a special structuring of the guitarværket. (It is, incidentally, the sound of Skype starting up 38 seconds into the "X"?). The finisher "Flux" put it closest up the Incantations instruments with absolutely terrible doom and growls, abruptly afvekslet with tæskende passages of blastbeats. Finally sinks leadguitaren deeper and deeper into madness until the only atonal guitarstøj and katarsisfremkaldende drums is heard; an appropriate farewell.

As a general rule, the Yonder... impressive and well-written, though some of the songs and cut the last remnant of lyttervenlighed away. "Cults" is a few doom-passages, where the guitars are almost non-figurative, and in spite of a good sense of dynamics, it is essentially the final, cosmic black metal piece, I enjoy the by the song. Also I find it hard to follow the riff in the most intense piece in the beginning of "Empyrean", even though it is quick to rectify it. The group, in turn, must be commended for keeping the length at thirty-three minutes; there is really no need to do a double-LP out of the dissonant death metal.

>> Check the songs and lyrics here